K’Sandra Thomas
Communications & Outreach Director
(678) 553 0507


The Call for Entries is currently closed. 

Register and submit >

All entries must be the work of a Registered Georgia Architect who lives or does work in Georgia.

Submissions for the Student Project Award must be a current student or recent 2021 graduate, from an accredited Georgia architecture degree program The competition is open to architectural projects of all classifications and sizes. Location of projects is not restricted.

Any works submitted for consideration must have been completed and occupied between Jan 1, 2016, and Dec 31, 2021. Projects that received a previous AIA Georgia Design Award are not eligible. Built projects that have previously been awarded in the unbuilt category are encouraged to enter.

All submissions will be reviewed by a common jury of distinguished guests connected to all facets of the design profession. As projects are subject to diverse contexts, programs, budgets, and restraints, each entry is judged for the success with which the project has met its individual requirements.

We encourage submissions that exhibit a strong definition of design excellence. Submissions may be exemplary in their typology, technical advancement, innovation, economy, sustainability, as well as other achievements.

Entry Fee: $150
Student Projects: $15 (no early bird special)
Early Bird Special: $100 (Register by January 21, 2022, before 6 PM)

2022 Design Awards Jury
  • Meryati Blackwell, AIA, ASID, NCIDQ, LEED AP | Marlon Blackwell Architects
  • Jonathan Marvel, FAIA, ASLA Affiliate | Marvel Designs
  • Steve Raike, AIA, LEED AP BD+C | Lake|Flato Architects

2021 Design Awards Jury
  • Yiselle Santos Rivera, AIA | HKS, Inc.
  • Simon Ha, AIA | Steinberg Hart
  • Kirsten Ring Murray, FAIA | Olson Kundig
2021 Student Design Awards Jury
  • Sarah Woynicz, AIA | HKS, Inc
  • Jared Serwer, AIA | Perkins & Will
  • Will Stanford, AIA | BTBB

View the 2022  winners and the 2018-2021 awardees here >


Battery Backus | Daniel E. Snyder Architect, P. C.
David T. Howard Middle School | SSOE | Stevens & Wilkinson
Holly Hill | Robert M. Cain, Architecture
Kilcor Corporate Headquarters | SVX Architects LLC
Kumbh Mela | Vatsal Patel, Savannah College of Art and Design
Optimist Hall | Perkins&Will
Piedmont Wellness Center | Perkins&Will
Pier on Twelve-Mile Bayou | Robert M. Cain, Architect
Plant Riverside District | Sottile & Sottile, Civic Architecture & Urban Design
Price Gilbert/Crosland Tower Library Renewal | bnim
Sandbox School of Amager Commons | James Jung, Savannah College of Art and Design
StationSoccer – A different kind of Transit Oriented Development | HKS Inc.
Terminale Dell’Isola | Mateo Mantilla, Savannah College of Art and Design
The Hub at Peachtree Center | Beck Architecture Georgia
The Kayak Center | Sanket Gunjal
The Kendeda Building for Innovative Sustainable Design | Lord Aeck Sargent & the Miller Hull Partnership
The Portal | Sanjana Sanjay Vadhavkar, Savannah College of Art and Design
Tybee Island Marine Science Center | Sottile & Sottile, Civic Architecture & Urban Design
Waters College of Health Professions at Georgia Southern University | The S/L/A/M Collaborative
Woodruff Arts Center: Coca-Cola Stage at the Alliance Theatre | Trahan Architects

Entry Categories

The 2022 Awards program is now open. You can review the 2022 submission guidelines and tips on the Call for Entries.

  • Built Project (over and under 5,000 SF):
    Built projects are divided into two entry categories and provides a catch-all opportunity for projects that demonstrate design achievement in architecture regardless of budget, style, or type with gross square footage over or under 5,000 square feet.
  • Unbuilt Project:
    The Unbuilt Project category celebrates the best in yet-to-be-built and speculative/theoretical design. Projects in this category are judged on their innovation, ability to overcome stated design challenges, and overall design excellence.
  • Renovation/Restoration/Adaptive-Reuse (over and under $1 million):
    The Renovation/Restoration/Adaptive-Reuse category honors masterful renovation, preservation, rehabilitation, reconstruction, adaptive-reuse and restoration projects with two gross cost levels of entry, over and under $1 million.
  • Interior Architecture:
    The Interior Architecture category celebrates spectacular interior spaces that demonstrate design achievement, including a sense of place and purpose, ecology and environmental sustainability, and history.
  • Residential/Housing (over and under $1 million):
    Residential projects are honored with a category that celebrates the best in single-family, multi-family, and mixed-use residential design– showing the world how beauty, safety, sustainability, and comfort can come together. This category has two levels of entry for projects over and under $1 Million in gross cost.
  • Student Project:
    Student Project awardees exhibit design excellence in student work including research, installations, conceptual projects, or competitions. The applicant must be a current student or recent 2020 graduate, from an accredited Georgia architecture degree program.