Cheryl Mcafee is awarded the Rothschild medal onstage.
2023 Rothschild Award Recipient, Cheryl McAfee, FAIA | Photo Credit: Brian Reeves

AIA Georgia is proud to continue its tradition of celebrating the accomplishments of its members and the organizations doing work that uplifts the community and consequently, the profession. Our five top honors place a spotlight on those creating meaningful opportunities, economic growth, and a sustainable future for our State.

Winners are revealed at the AIA Georgia Design and Honor Awards. This year’s program will return to the Ponce City Market Rooftop. The event is our most-attended of the year, uniting a diverse audience of those passionate about great design and outstanding architects and future designers.


David Southerland
Executive Director


Submissions for the 2024 Honor Awards Program are now open. The deadline to nominate individuals and firms is February 23, 2024, by 6 PM.

Honor Award Categories

The 2024 Honor Awards program is now open. You can review the 2024 submission guidelines and tips on the Honors Criteria.

  • Architecture Educator of the Year:
    The Educator of the Year Award is bestowed upon any educator, faculty member, administrator, or staff person who has furthered the objectives of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) in the role of educating and supporting the next generation of architects.
  • Bronze Medal Award:
    The Bronze Medal is bestowed upon any program, firm, institution, or AIA member which has furthered the objectives of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) based on a criteria of service, education, and advocacy.
  • Emerging Professional Award:
    This awards is open to All Associate AIA members, as well as any Architect member in good standing, residing and licensed to practice architecture in Georgia whose initial date of licensure (if licensed) in is less than 10 years and their first graduation from an accredited school of architecture is less than 15 years ago with a criteria based on a number of architectural and community oriented points.
  • Architecture Firm of the Year:
    The Architecture Firm of the Year Award is bestowed upon a firm whose passion and practice has produced notable architecture and contributions to society for at least a decade and has furthered the objectives of the American Institute of Architects (AIA).
  • Bernard B. Rothschild FAIA Award:
    The Rothschild Award, the most prestigious honor from AIA Georgia, is named after Bernard B. Rothschild FAIA, a dedicated leader in the architectural profession. This award is given to an architect or architect partners in recognition of their extensive and distinguished service to the field of Architecture in the State of Georgia.
  • Carmen Stan Elevation of the Profession Award:
    This award is open to any of the following: an individual who has contributed to the success of an AIA Georgia, NOMA Atlanta, or an AIA local chapter/section sponsored endeavor, including but not limited to programs, committees, Task Forces, conference, etc.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to be nominated to apply?
For people-based programs (e.g., Emerging Professional, Educator of the Year, etc.), there is usually a required nominator or sponsor, though some programs allow for self-nomination. Please refer to the specific program criteria for more information.

Do I have to be an AIA member to apply?
This varies depending on the program’s criteria. For organizational awards you do not have to be an AIA member to apply. Membership is however required for nearly all of the people-based programs. Please refer to the specific program criteria for more information.

How do I apply?
All honor awards are accepted via the same online nomination form. The Honors Criteria is a resource to guide you in preparing a submission where you will find the materials for each program on their respective pages.

Who are reference letters addressed to?
All reference letters should be addressed to the Jury Chair. Sometimes a chair has not been named by the time applications open. In that case, we recommend addressing the the letter to “Jury Chair, [award name]”.

How long are reference letters kept on file?
Reference letters for successful candidates are archived with the submission. Unsuccessful applications reference letters are kept on file for up to two years following the original application submission.

How are winners recognized?
Winners are announced and celebrated at the annual AIA Georgia Design & Honor Awards each Spring. We encourage successful candidates to attend and bring their family and friends to celebrate.