Nominees were entered and selected by a geographically diverse jury on design excellence and impact to the profession of architecture


ATLANTA – April 27, 2019 – The American Institute of Architects, Georgia Association (AIA Georgia) is announcing this year’s recipients for its Design and Honor Awards. Complete details for each project are available on AIA Georgia’s website.

AIA Georgia bestows awards for design and honor annually on a number of projects selected by its jurors. In order to be eligible for a design award the project must be the work of a registered Georgia architect who lives or does work in Georgia. Submissions for the Student Project Award must be the work of either a current student in Georgia or one that has graduated in 2018. The competition is open to architectural projects of all classifications and sizes. Location of projects is not restricted. Any works submitted for consideration must have been completed and occupied between Jan 1, 2013, and Dec 31, 2018.

Three separate jurys were chosen for Design, Student Project, and Honor Awards and selected projects from 147 entrants.

Asterisk next to project name denotes winner of 2019 People’s Choice Award. To find level of award won, please visit our website.

2019 Design Awards


Suzane Reatig, FAIA | Suzane Reatig Architecture | DC
Matthew Coates, AIA | Coates Design Architects | WA
Jan Blackmon, FAIA | AIA Dallas | TX

Built Category:

Interior Architecture:


Residential under $1 Million:

Residential over $1 Million:


2019 Student Design Awards


Eric Balogh, AIA | The Beck Group
Laura Morton, AIA | Stevens & Wilkinson
Robert Woodhurst, IV, AIA | Smith Dalia Architects

2019 Honor Awards


Lee Ann Gamble, AIA | Gamble+Gamble | Atlanta
Ashley Hernandez, AIA, NOMA | Cooper Carry, Inc. | Atlanta
Jared Serwer, AIA | Perkins+Will | Atlanta
Jodie Quinter, AIA | CED Architecture + Interiors | Savannah

  • Emerging Professional Award | Anthony Cissell, AIA
  • Architecture Firm of the Year | BLDGS
  • Bronze Medal | Atlanta Center for Creative Inquiry (ACCI)

The Bernard B. Rothschild Award is the highest honor given by the Georgia Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. The jury is comprised of the three most recent recipients of the award.


Antonin “Tony” Aeck, FAIA | Lord Aeck Sargent | Atlanta
Robert L. Brown, Jr., FAIA | RL Brown & Associates | Atlanta
Anne Kolman Smith, FAIA | Lominack Kolman Smith | Savannah

  • Bernard B. Rothschild Award | Janice Wittschiebe, AIA

Visit the AIA Georgia Honor Awards website for more information on awardees.

Award recipients were honored at the AIA Georgia Design & Honor Awards at Ponce City Market, Rooftop in Atlanta, GA on April 27, 2019.


About the American Institute of Architects

Founded in 1857, the American Institute of Architects consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through nearly 300 state and local chapters, the AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards. The AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation and world.